Facing a drug charge and possible conviction is one of the most difficult situations anyone could go through. Any drug offense in Louisiana has the potential to be life-changing. Louisiana’s judges, prosecutors, and police strictly push towards heavy sentences and fines when it comes to drug charges. Both misdemeanors and felonies have heavy consequences including jail time, fines, probation, and more.
If you’re confronting drug charges, whether they are misdemeanor or felony charges, you have to understand that you have constitutional rights protecting you. Drug possession, distribution, trafficking, manufacturing, and/or cultivation charges, all require strong legal defense. Without a criminal defense attorney by your side, you could face the worst consequences. You need tried and true legal counsel, that’s where Shane Hinch can help. Shane is a Lake Charles criminal defense attorney with over 16 years of experience. He is rated AV Preeminent® by Martindale-Hubbell®, he’s a Top 100 Trial Lawyers by The National Trial Lawyers, and one of the Top 10 under 40 by the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers. Along with this recognition, he is also an ‘expert in the field of criminal defense’ per the 14th Judicial District Court of Louisiana.
Most Common Drug Crimes in Louisiana
All cases are unique, without a consultation the specifics of your case might mean it is a misdemeanor or felony.
Any drug charge and conviction can have serious effects on your future, even misdemeanor drug offenses.
Regardless, we want to discuss some of the more common drug charges.
Possessing less than 14 grams of Marijuana in Louisiana is a misdemeanor offense. This specific offense only carries the possibility of a fine. However, for amounts over 14 grams and under 2.5 pounds, there is a possibility of jail time. Above that amount and you could see multi-year jail sentences and the possibility of tens of thousands of dollars in fines.
Possession of cocaine in Louisiana is strictly prosecuted. The law says that being found guilty of possession of cocaine comes with a maximum 5 year sentence in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. Possession is defined as having under 28 grams. Above that amount means that you could face increasingly tougher sentences with more prison time and fines.
To be charged with cocaine distribution the prosecution must argue that the person accused was exchanging the controlled substance for money or something of value. Life in prison is a possibility if found guilty of cocaine distribution. Someone can be found guilty of trafficking if they transported, facilitated, or produced cocaine, or the materials used to make cocaine. This charge comes with a possible 40 years to life and fines of up to half a million dollars.
Possessing less than 28 grams of meth and being convicted could result in up to 5 years of prison with or without hard labor. This could also come with a $50,000 fine. Possession of over 28 grams could land a person up to 30 years in jail.
Lake Charles Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you’re facing these charges you need a lawyer with experience, results, and ability. That’s Shane Hinch. Contact our Lake Charles office today to schedule a consultation.